Snapshot of our Suffrage History

1869

In Nelson, Mary Ann Müller begins writing articles under the pseudonym, 'Femmina', lobbying for women's suffrage

1871

Mary Coclough ('Polly Plum') gives her first public lecture on the rights of women

1876

Women ratepayers can vote in local body elections

1886

First petitions for women's suffrage begin to circulate

1890

Heni Te Kiri Karamu (aka Heni Pore) sets up WCTU branches and campaigns for the vote in Bay of Plenty.

1893

Meri Te Tai Mangakāhia leads a delegation of women seeking the right to vote and sit in Māori Parliament

Ten weeks after suffrage is achieved, 82% of women turn out to vote (compared to 70% of men)

Elizabeth Yates elected first woman Mayor (Onehunga) in the British Empire

1919

Women's Parliamentary Rights Bill passes and Rosetta Baume, Aileen Cooke and Ellen Melville are first women to stand for Parliament

1933

Elizabeth McCombs first woman elected to Parliament

1949

Iriaka Rātana first Māori woman elected to Parliament

19 September **1893**

Suffrage bill passes by only two votes

SUFFRAGE 125 Whakatū Wāhine

2018

Celebrating 125 years

1985

The Ministry of Women's Affairs established as a stand-alone policy agency

1990

Catherine Tizard sworn in as New Zealand's first woman Governor-General

1995

Georgina Beyer, the world's first openly transgender woman elected Mayor (Carterton)

1996

Pansy Wong first Asian woman elected to Parliament

1997

Jenny Shipley becomes first woman Prime Minister

1999

Winnie Laban first Pacific woman elected to Parliament

2017

A record 46 women MPs elected to serve – 38% of total MPs

